I Forge Iron

thought you might like to see my clock

Thats why I asked about who perceives the value. I always thought the maker did as in "thats what the market will bare" Case in point, I'm working on metal spinning. I spun 5 pcs yesterday that "should" have taken about 1 hr. but it took me 2. I'm still learning so I base my sale price not on how long they take but what I feel they are worth. I figure, I'm being paid to learn.

My wife was wearing one of my wrought silver neck pieces the other day and a woman asked her if she would sell it, she said she'd call me and ask. I told my wife to ask $250 for it as I didn't want to sell it. The woman just handed her the money and just walked away as happy as if she were in her right mind. I had $25 worth of silver in it and about 2 hours of forging time. That woman certainly had a different perception of value than I had. If I was intending to sell it I would have priced it at around $150 not $250. "Perceived Value" is very different between the sexes and social/economic classes of society.

So Grant, how do you determine what they perceive the value to be. And what do you do when their perceived value is lower than your perceived value.

How'd we end up down this path? Determining the perceived value can mean building the perceived value or weighing the customers options.

Much artistic stuff is sold by the artists ability to build value. Much industrial stuff is based on available options. I've done some bending jobs that "had" to be done and I was the only one who could (or knew how to) do it. I've had jobs that turned $500.00 per hour because I could do them and it was still the best option for the customer.