I Forge Iron

Good buy?

Hi there. I'm just getting started out and would like to know if this is a good buy. It's an NC farrier's anvil, 70 lbs and the person wants $50 for it. It looks like a great deal to me, but I want to make sure.

I'm also looking at buying a 140 lb Trenton for just over $300 for my main anvil, but the 70 pounder seems like a deal I shouldn't pass up. What do you all think?

Thanks for any help or advice!

Photo_101709_001.jpgPhoto_101709_002.jpg

Edited by wrkn4alivn

I have a pesky road runner out here that I could use that anvil to "reduce the problem to a manageable size"...

(actually I do; we prefer the lizards as bug eaters than as road runner food)

Might as well try that anvil. The ACME's didn't work very well, at least not against the roadrunner:)

Bill

I have a pesky road runner out here that I could use that anvil to "reduce the problem to a manageable size"...

(actually I do; we prefer the lizards as bug eaters than as road runner food)

It would definitely take care of little "problems" like that ;).

I got it home last night. It's in better shape than I could even tell from the pics - virtually unmarred, perfect edges, just a few dings on the horn and a small chip on one of the edges of the hardy hole, no marring on the face at all.

I know it's a bit small and it doesn't have a round horn, but it's mine... ALL MINE!!! :D Well worth the 67 cents a pound I paid for it.

I spent a good part of yesterday reading the tutorials on the main page and all I can say is wow - good stuff. Can't wait to start work on my first pair of tongs!

I went out last night and picked up an 8 gallon compressor tank that will eventually become my gas forge and am going to talk to a local pottery shop about getting some kaowool and refractory cement. Already ordered an adapter for my propane thank.

I'm having fun and haven't even hit my first piece of metal.... What have I gotten myself into??? :o Edited by wrkn4alivn