I Forge Iron

Anvil rebound

I have a question about the rebound factor of various anvils in general. I do a fair amount of reading regarding blacksmithing and it keeps coming up about this "rebound" factor of anvils, which ones do and which ones don't. Now I have mentioned in past postings about my Star 155lb anvil that is cast iron with a welded steel top plate, well over a hundred years old and still going. I know that the solid steel anvils, cast or wrought are supposed to have the best rebound and ringing when you hit them. What I don't get is just how important this factor is. I have read that if an anvil has a poor rebound you will be " working against yourself " that the hammer lifts more than with with an anvil that does not. I would say my anvil rebounds to a degree but I have never worked on any others before and have nothing to compare it to. I don't see how there can be much of the hammer rebounding anyway as it is hitting hot steel that is soft? Mine seems to works just fine for me and thankfully does not have much ring to speak of either.
Thanks for any input..........Scott

The hot steel is also being acted on by the anvil, not just by the hammer. If the anvil is soft then the energy is absorbed by both the anvil and the steel. With a hard anvil the work is absorbed by the steel, and "reflected" back to the steel by the anvil. Ring by itself is not important, as geometry and material choices affect that, and efforts to reduce it are often made. Ring is an indicator of the condition of the internal structure of the anvil. A broken anvil will sound dull or dead compared to an unbroken anvil of the same type.

Try an experiment: use a "dead" surface such as a paver on top of your anvil and make a small something, like a key fob or s-hook. Then use your anvil to make an identical item. Appreciate the difference.