I Forge Iron

What I learned today.

Had cause to fire up the not yet finished forge today. Needed to straighten some pins from a horse float I have borrowed and rental cost is repairs and maintenance. I also decided to forge some staples for tethering points.

So what I learned was:

1. I am not yet a blacksmith.
2. My forge has a voracious appetite for charcoal.
3. When your anvil only weighs about 40 pounds and it is not mounted you will have to chase it around the shop when in use.
4. When you have no tongs a pair of really long handled pliers are your friend.
5. By the time I figure out which way to hold and hit it, all the red has gone.
6. A centre punch makes a dismal drift.
7. A centre punch used as a hot drift no longer works as a centre punch.
8. I am a much better mig welder than I thought I was.
9. A bare hand is not a good tool for brushing drill swarf of you work.
10. Every small particle within 100 yards of magnetic welding aids is magnetic, and when they stick to the magnet it don't work so good anymore.

What I didn't learn was how to get all that magnetic junk off'n the magnets, so they now look like little red triangular porcupines.

The staples are now designated as prototypes only and will be refined and further developed soon.

2. Coal burns faster than some other fuels. You will learn that you do not need the back blast from a jet engine to run a forge, but just enough air to get the fire up to the temperature you need for the job at hand.

3. Light anvils do walk-about. Secure it in place and stop chasing it. Look for a heavier object or anvil to use, the heavier the better.

4. You can weld a piece of scrap metal to the work and use it as a handle when tongs are not available. Tongs are just long handled pliers anyway. (grin).

5. Set up so you do not have to get tools while the metal cools. Have everything ready before the hot steel leaves the fire, then go straight to the anvil and start hammering.