I Forge Iron

Shallow Forge welding

Hey once again.

I'm having trouble forge welding. I haven't ever forge welded, and i'm still new to the very idea of blacksmithing. I read about how to do it, studied the pics then went out to try my luck, but to no avail. One thing that i was really confused about, i couldn't find any pics, is that you have to have a different type of forge fire. I read it had to be deeper than a regular fire by about 3 to 4in. and make kind've a oven. Unfortunately the only forge i have is a super shallow portable forge, which makes deep an issue. I was wondering if anybody had any pics of there coal forge welding fires or somewhere were i could find some. Is it possible(without years of experience) to weld in a forge that small and shallow? Do i need to give the metal a long time to heat up? or can i heat it at a regular pace? Thanks,

Travis

Also, if it's an oven type shape, how would i weld a piece of sheet metal? thanks

when you heat the metal does it get yellow hot and give off tiny sparks........that is the max temp range you will need

you could add a few firebricks to help contain the heat on three sides.

the slow heat is to ensure the interior of the stack is as hot as the outside thinking pattern welding here for blades

Edited by johnptc