I Forge Iron

where can i get a cheap anvil?

Im still a newbie and on a quest to find an anvil too. At the moment I am using a small block of mild steel, and the head of a big lump hammer as an anvil. (the lump hammer is good because it has rounded edges for drawing and starting scrolls etc, and the steel block is good for flat finishing and it has crisp edges)

My point is that while you are looking for a propper anvil just get some metal hot and find something to pound it on!

Im still a newbie and on a quest to find an anvil too. At the moment I am using a small block of mild steel, and the head of a big lump hammer as an anvil. (the lump hammer is good because it has rounded edges for drawing and starting scrolls etc, and the steel block is good for flat finishing and it has crisp edges)

My point is that while you are looking for a propper anvil just get some metal hot and find something to pound it on!

I agree with Bob. The first anvil I used 10 years ago was a die from a tool making operation. It's heavey, it has a flat surface and it's hardened. I still have it and my son's using now. I suspect that thing'll outlast most anvils on the market.

I've found a few good anvils at farm auctions and I run across one now and then at antique shops. The ones at the auctions around here can run in price from crazy cheap to out-right over-priced. Trick is, keep your eyes open:othey turn up in odd places sometimes.

thanks. i think that a 50-60lb block of mild steel will work, conveintly i have a scrap yard nearby, but i have a plate for an anvil, but it has no rebound and it is to large square but it is not thick enough, thanks for the ideas!

is mild steel hard enough for using as an anvil? do i need higher carbon?

High carbon is better; mild steel will work.

As a source for a medium carbon steel hunk of metal look into getting a damaged fork lift tine---one they can't/won't re-sell for use can make a fine starter anvil.