I Forge Iron

Whisper Baby Pressure?

Hello all, just picked up a whisper baby that is in almost new condition for a great deal! What I am wondering is what pressure I should run it at. I ran on 10lbs for awhile and then on 15lbs seemed to do better at 15lbs, but I am new to this type of forge and really have no idea where to set the regulator.

Yeah, spending $10-15 for a new gauge is a good investment.

You can also get in touch with the manufacturer and get their opinion.

However, anywhere between 4 and 20 psi is pretty normal operating range depending on a number of variables. #1 is altitude. After that there are humidity, ambient temp, shop ventilation and air consumption, breezes and others even less significant. There are a lot of things that make a little bit of difference and they add up. Believe it or not my gasser operates slightly differently at the museum some 3 miles from here.

The variables are different in every location too so it's pretty difficult (call it impossible) to say what specific psi your forge should operate on. The best realistic data you can expect is a working range. After that you need to learn to tune your forge for yourself.

So, what I'm saying is play with it till you get it tweeked to your taste. Most important is to avoid excessive scaling. If steel forms scale in the forge it's running too lean. If there's excess flame (there'll always be some) coming out the door, say it has fluttery feather flames at the top that are a little orange or worse yellow, it's running too rich and generating excess CO.

Okay, so maybe this is more important than a little excess scale. CO, Carbon Monoxide can kill you, can cause long term health problems and just generally can make you irritable.

Anyway, think range of psi and range of behaviors and you'll be on the happy track. Specifics between forges, locations and people just don't apply very well.

Frosty

Edited by Frosty