I Forge Iron

winter sucks

If you've ever wondered about the power of Mother Nature, check out how much the freeze has lifted my hammer base.
The base is 3 ft deep, bridge timbers with a layer of 8" square white ash on top. All held together with mine bolts. The hammer weighs it at over 2000# and I figger the base to be about 1000#.
Reckon I shoulda sowed grass seed around it, sod thwarts the freeze. :-)

11388.attach

11389.attach

If you would have put a pebble/ sand mix bellow and around the cement pad i dought you would have that problem. Another trick is to put thick plastic sheeting around the base bellow the ground on an angle so water runs along it and falls off the sheet so to speak 4 or 5 feet away. And yes sod will help alot too, I think you can select grass seed that will have deep roots, That might be worth it.

Bruce, as a builder i am constantly checking freeze depths and it changes with the type of foundation, and if there is in the example of a mobile home, skirting around the piers / foundation.

In your area, the normal foundation freeze depth is 36 inches, which you are at, but the table i see with your situation, pier with no skirting, is 48 inches, i believe this is why you have the frost heave.

here is a link to the PA frost tables, pdf file page # 4

A couple things:

Like mike said a bed of gravel to prevent the soil from holding water will make a huge difference. These are known as NFS soils. (Non Frost Susceptible) If the soil can't hold water it can't heave.