I Forge Iron

Newbie looking for forge ideas

mwcooke

Hello all, I am just getting into this hobbie. I am currently using an old grill as my forge, but am looking for something that I could burn in my Garage and vent outside. I was wondering if a wood burning/coal burning stove would make a good forge. Specifically I was wondering what you guys thought of this one...

Harbor Freight Tools - Cast Iron Stove

Edited by mwcooke

Welcome aboard MW.

Having done some forging in camp fires and once in a wood stove I can tell you one thing for sure. It will get so hot you will NOT be able to get close enough to use it, heck, you can't even cook on one of those without running everyone out of the place.

Still, there's no reason not to make an enclosed charcoal forge if you avoid cast iron as the body. A wood stove is designed to get the heat from the fire out of the stove and into the room. What you'd want to do instead is build it from refractory brick.

On the other hand a more traditional solid fuel forge with a side draft chimney works marvelously well and you don't have to reinvent the thing. If you do a search of IFI you'll find all kinds of designs, plans and long threads discussing the pros, cons and problems encountered and solved.

lastly, if you'll click on "User CP" at the top of the page and edit your profile to show your location there're probably guys close enough to you to lend a hand directly.

Welcome to the addiction . . . Er. . . Ahem. . . Hobby, that's right, it's a hobby, nothing more, just a hobby.

Frosty