I Forge Iron

How to dress a Haberman Hammer

Arbalist

I've just ordered whats likely to be the most expensive hammer I'll ever buy, a 1.3 kg Haberman. I think I probably know how to dress a hammer but reckon it would be a good idea to ask you guys how best to do it - I don't want to mess up a $80.00 Hammer! I know there is a picture of the "original" on this site but it is an old hammer and has probably been redressed a few times?! Any suggestions, or better still pictures, much appreciated.

Vic.

Don't they come in a fit state to use for that price?

When making hammers on a commercial scale, ( and the company I worked for also hand forged the climbing items for the first succesful ascent of Everest in '53 ) the initial shaping and fitting was done before the items left the shop, and they were fit to use from receipt by the customer.

Dressing should only be necessary after it has been used, I have been using the same hammer I made for over 45 years now, and all I have had to do to it is occassionally polish the face, and replace the handle.

Some like to just increase the radius on the edge of the face, but try it before you decide what is needed for YOUR type of work.

You can take the metal off easily enough but its more difficult to restore when youv'e gone too far.

I would say that whether a hammer is sufficiently finished for use depends on the opinion of the smith. At one guild meeting about 10 years ago, a vendor selling Peddinghaus Swedish Pattern Hammers showed up on the same day as a knifemaker. After the demonstration lines formed. First smiths would buy a Peddinghous hammer, then they would go over to one of the knifemaker's sander/grinders and reshape the heads. Nol Putnam used to give demonstrations on reshaping the heads of hammers. He would take off the handle and reforge the hammer to be more domed at the ends, and would ease and round the edges of each end, thus giving them a few of the features now found in Hofi hammers.