I Forge Iron

Period Forges

Stephen Norris

Firstly hello to all. I've been smithing for 5 years, still learning and based in the london area in England.
I'm searching for info. on 15-16th century mobile forges. I've come across two types- a wooden board with a sand boxed in for the hearth with twin seasaw bellows and a back blower hearth with a twin action bellows mounted underneath. Does any one have any prints/images/ etching of heath of this period.

Many Thanks,
Stephen

Military groups generally set up camp in villages in those times; remember one of the points of contention as late as the American Revolution was the billeting of soldiers in civilian homes.

When I did a Y1K LH event I took some rocks and sectioned off a part of a campfire to use as a forge---the campfire then was used to produce charcoal for the forge.

I take my travelling forge to events using twin single action bellows with a cam mechanism for medieval and a single double action bellows for 1550 onwards.
However I explain to the public that the forge I am using is just for show and that either they would take over a local smithy as Thomas mentions or would build a semi-permenant set up in a long term encampment.
I have heard that a friend of mine MAY that is MAY have an illustration of a 15th century forge cart, I am waiting to here back.
Stephen what group period do you do? I am with the company of saint george.

Wayne can we see a picture of your set up? I've been using my two single action bellows in the style of the carvings on the stave church at Hylestad, Setesdal, Norway with a seperate person dedicated to working the bellows in alternation.

I've been wanting to build a more modern set, saw the high middle ages and have wondered about the mechanisms to work a pair alternating with one bellows pole.