I Forge Iron

Japanese Blacksmith Work that isn't Swords

I'm a high school teacher and I was blessed to be able to go on a school tour to Japan during our Easter holidays this year.

We visited Nijo Jo castle while in Kyoto and I among all the other hundreds of photos I took on the trip, I snapped a few of these rivets on the outer doors:

20240403_113449.thumb.jpg.24fc99ef54f8450b530868f58168c524.jpg

20240403_113534.thumb.jpg.366f575dae9c8df5c7969a1ab9216dbb.jpg

20240403_122631.thumb.jpg.281a9b2264ec5e7c7687a1184f74dece.jpg

I love the decorative elements, even on such practical, heavy-duty rivets (about 3/4" diameter). I'm not sure what the larger round pieces are but I believe the floral pattern on them is the Imperial Crest which is a Chrysanthemum.

There were no photos allowed inside, unfortunately, but they had examples of (I presume cast) metal crests of the Shogun who originally had the castle built in 1603, and the Imperial Crest from when political rule, and the castle, were handed back to the Emperor in 1867.

Thanks for looking!

Jono.

Thanks for sharing.  That sounds like it was a fun field day, Juno.  My daughter just took a class to Washington, DC.  No iron work photo's though.  She was close to me but we could not arrange a visit.  I'm not an expert but those doors look pretty thick and substancial..

High school sure has changed since I graduated, field trips for us were an evening at the theater (The Mikado) or the athletic field to watch the school balloon club launch a package. Yeah, walking to the athletic field was counted as a field trip. 

Are your students in an exceptional group or are you guys just really lucky?

Thanks for the look Jono.

Frosty The Lucky.

You probably surrounded by fields! The only "fields" around us were either truck farms, orchards or vacant lots. My graduating class was 1,013 and those were the ones who graduated.