I Forge Iron

Various Questions With My Gas Build

TheCowBear

I've been attempting to blacksmith for a couple years now and this is the forge I started with:

image_123650291(1).thumb.JPG.c87e33d0e59c8e28bebe43b4f6776d96.JPG

It had these burners:

image_123650291(2).thumb.JPG.f0b23c0930592443034631abdf123f3c.JPG

I have since built this:

image_123650291.thumb.JPG.f416da98851873af1c3106174b1dd2df.JPG

After reading a decent portion of the burners 101 topic I think the burners I have will work ok for the new forge, but I was wondering 1) how to make them more efficient and 2) the best way to mount them without having access to a welder? I haven't found much on the forum about physically mounting burners just about angles and depths, but not ways to attach them. That might be a failure of my search skills, so sorry if that is the case and this specific question has been answered a billion times.

I am planning on adding Kast-O-Lite 30 to the new forge, but one of the forums said to drill holes for burners before doing that step so I'm posting before doing that part. I did add  blue rigidizer but it looks like it may have drained all the way out. My shop is 50 min south of where I live and I haven't been able to check since I was sent these pictures.

My goal with the new forge is to be able to use it to forge weld and heat treat as finances to build multiple styles are limited. Any other suggestions y'all have in regards to the build would be grand as well. Thanks in advance.

It's kind of tough for us to answer the question of how to mount the burner without being able to see much of how/where your latest forge is placed.