I Forge Iron

Electric forklift forging press

Tom packer

Hi folks has anyone tried making a forging press with electric forklift components I've recently brought a cheap one for the battery primarily for solar storage, I've been collecting parts for a press for a few years (cylinder,steel etc) and thought I might be able to use the motor, valves etc from the forklift and make a solar powered dc forging press any advice much appreciated

Cheers tom 

Good Morning Tom,

Twas the night before, the night before and all through the Shop. Not a Press was working, because the pieces hadn't been combined yet. Up on the rooftop there arose such a clatter. "Put your pieces together, it just doesn't matter". Use your noodle to make it work, Solar is the center of the universe, maybe not a Press. Butt then, who says No!!

Welcome from the left Coast of Canada, Vancouver island.

Neil

I don't k now of anyone who's built a forge press from an electric forklift but I've been waiting. 

Two factors govern how effective a forge press is. Force and Speed. For me the beginning point on a build like this is assessing the pump(s) hopefully you have a number of pumps to choose from. What usually causes guys problems are pumps that develop LOTS of pressure but have low flow rates or the other extreme high flow rates but low pressure. You can deal with either but might not be able to get a good forge press.

Okay, enough from me for now. Tell us what you have to work with and be specific. Read the pump's, motor's and control valve's data badges, they'll have manufacturer, PSI, flow, travel, etc. Those are more central to the build than most other stuff. Motors will list, wattage, rpm, etc. VARIABLE rpm is SWEET!

Piston sizes and psi range is important.

I've got to break off now or I'll ramble to silly lengths.

Frosty The Lucky.