I Forge Iron

Question to anyone with experiance in smithing-

Kale

New here, so sorry if this is the wrong section.
Im in my last year in highschool, by now most know(or at least have an idea)
of what they wanna do for a living, me on the other hand, not so much.

Im trying to find something i'd enjoy doing, but still make enough to get by on.
from what i've seen thus far, blacksmithing dosnt seem like It could make enough, but since I know so little about it, I figured i'd ask before I wrote it off my list since its something i've always been interested in.

I guess I'll put my 2 Cents in here. From what I know about Blacksmithing / Metal Fabricating.. You have to be pretty darn talented to make a good living at it, Plus have alot of knowledge and a shop with tools that can get the job done, I would suggest the medical field, and just do the blacksmithing as a Hobbie, Thats my thoughts on this subject. and I hope you make a good decision.

Kale, I know a few very talented smiths who went bankrupt and now work at odd jobs. How hard do you want to work? Are you mechanically inclined? Do you like auto mechanics, for example? Check out the Technical Colleges. A one year degree from Universal Technical Institute and 1 additional year of experience will get you $40-60 K if you are good. A fully certified auto tech can make $100K. Other fields like motorcycles, paint and body, diesels, etc can be taken too.

Talent unfortunately does not make you succesful, if you can market and promote your items, then you have a chance.

There is lot of inferior work out there (Not just blacksmithing stuff) poorly made but sold well.

Somone was said. "A poorly made piece well finished, will impress more than a well made piece poorly finished"

There are a lot of 'smiths out there struggling to make a living, but I don't know of many, if any, who are millionaires.

Location can also play an important part in their success.

Hey Kale,