I Forge Iron

New forge is here

Pigsticker

Your question is unclear to me. By "puff" I'm guessing you mean ceramic wool or similar? "How Much will I lose..." Do you mean how much volume will the ceramic wool and kastolite take up? It depends on the thickness of the ceramic wool, and to a degree, its density as this will affect how much it can "squish" into place. I'm not an expert but from what I've seen ceramic wool/ceramic fibre blanket/whatever trade name it is usually come in 1" or 2" thicknesses. It also depends on how much refractory cement they have provided. I think the general consensus on the forum is to apply it somewhere in the ballpark of 1/4" thick walls and maybe slightly thicker floor? (Someone correct me if I'm wrong).

So, it will be the volume of the unlined forge minus the volume taken up by the wool and cement. If it's a cylindrical forge the space left in the forge after lining will be:

pi x (radius of forge shell - thickness of wool and cement) squared x length of forge.

Is this what you were looking for?

Also, in my forge (2 x 3/4" T burners) I find there are still two distinct hot spots. One under each burner, slightly cooler in between (at least until it heats up fully). But, there are a lot of variables so YMMV.

Cheers,

Jono.

Until you get the blanket rigidized and covered with refractory wear a respirator to keep the ceramic fiber articles out of your lungs. It is a dangerous breathing hazard. Especially do NOT fire it up until it's been rigidized and covered with refractory! Once the fibers have been vitrified they break with very sharp ends and become more dangerous.

Frosty The Lucky.

Is 1/8 quart enough to rigidize and enough metrakote enough to cover this kiln?

Thanks

16996215550695321725991230680139.jpg

Thanks guys, good stuff, would you still metrakote. The 5vside shape is much smaller than my 1 burner rectangle Ad for forge said 4 minutes to 2600 degrees. Ill have to wear shoes

Tx