I Forge Iron

Newbie here looking to learn

Fundametal22

Hello everyone,

I am new to the trade, which I began as a hobby last March (‘22.) 

I have become slightly addicted to the feeling of taking seemingly useless and turning into something with a purpose, whether it is a tool for the day-to-day, or just something nice to look at. 

I am currently a traveling engineer in the healthcare industry. You can catch me in [random city every week] USA on weekdays, and at home on the weekends. Prior to this, I was in the US Navy for just over a decade. 

If anyone is ever looking for a hand near SC, give me a shout. I have much to learn, and would be happy to see your setup and learn a new technique. 

Thanks for having me, 

Ferg 

Welcome aboard Ferg, glad to have you. Slightly :rolleyes: addicted. . . Right. It's hard to describe the feeling of using two of mankind's oldest tools, fire and something to bash with and having your way with the symbol of strength for humans everywhere. What do you have for equipment and tools? What are you making now and what do you want to make eventually? 

It sounds like you have a nearly ideal job for finding tools, equipment and meeting blacksmiths with a little scheduling and routing tweaking. 

Frosty The Lucky.

9 hours ago, Daswulf said:

What types of things have you made so far? 

The first thing I made was a pair of crucible tongs for lifting and pouring, used my melting furnace burner to do some simple heating and bending (Will post a picture when I get the chance)

Castings I’ve made include lots of Copper, Aluminum, and Zinc ingots, anthill casts, buttons and coins, and recently a few failed attempts at a wolf statue. 

7 hours ago, Frosty said:

What do you have for equipment and tools? What are you making now and what do you want to make eventually?