I Forge Iron

Unusual alloy of gold and steel

2square

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if somebody might be so kind to help me by answering this question-

Is it technically or theoretically possible to create an alloy consisting of 90% pure (24k) gold and 10% steel?
If it were forged in the right conditions, could this combination result in a true alloy?
Or would the mixture end up as a non-homogeneous compound no matter what?

Many thanks for your help.

-George

Jim Binion makes iron gold mokume gane using powders and sintering the mixtures. Is it a true alloy? You'd have to ask Jim.

What do you have in mind for an alloy like this? While not a metallurgist by a long shot I do know alloys often have results that are very much counter intuitive.

Frosty The Lucky.

Thank you Frosty and Irondragon for the replies.

I'm not even close to knowing anything about metallurgy. I am a writer working on a script for a BreakingBad-style of story and I could use some expert advice to help me square a circle in the story plot.

In the plot, stolen bullion is accidentally dropped into a large crucible which is being used to make steel. Since the temperature would be pretty high (melting iron) I would think the gold would melt fast and I was wondering if this would create a homogeneous alloy or just layered patterns as Frosty mentioned.

The equilibrium solubility of iron in gold is very low at room temperature, e.g. less than 1wt%. However, it's solubility is greatly increased at higher temperatures. Going from the phase diagram, I suspect, if you were to quench at a sufficiently great rate, from 900C, you could retain a non-equilibrium alloy of 10% Fe in gold. Not sure what quench rate would be required and, of course, if you were to heat the alloy moderately, it would decompose into a two phase material (alpha Fe and gold).

Thank you so much Ferritic for your informative reply.

To clarify, let's say the process went something like this-