I Forge Iron

Forge Build: Ribbon Burner

RockLobster

I’m in the process of building a forge and plan to use this thread as a place to document this build.  Please feel free to use any of this information or provide helpful comments.

A little about me and my thoughts for this build:  I’m relatively new to smiting.  I’ve taken a number of classes on blade making and blacksmithing but now the time has come to set up my own shop.  This is a hobby for me but I take pride in having a quality setup.  Initially I planned to buy a middle tier propane forge but I enjoy fabrication and thought I would enjoy building my own forge to my standards.  After some research on various forge styles I settled on a ribbon burner propane forge.  The inspiration for the design comes from a forge I used at The Steel Yard in Providence RI, so I have a good idea of the functionality I’m looking for.  It may be slightly more complicated than is necessary but as I said, I enjoy the fabrication process. 

The initial design (REVA):

My initial thoughts for the design are as follows, this is likely to be subject to change as I get deeper into this project.  I have access to CAD (solidworks) so I’m able to fully model this before I get to building.  I also plan to make a full drawing set and post it here for anyone to use, once the design has been proven to work.