I Forge Iron

Where to get a cross peen hammer in Atlanta

Crustfungus

Anybody know? I'm new to the craft and have been going up to North Carolina to work in my mentor's forge. He asked if I could try to acquire a cross peen hammer, about 2 or 3 pounds and bring it up next time. I don't know where to start looking, where do blacksmiths get their tools around here?!

Any big box hardware store, even department stores like Fred Meyer or Walmart carry them. Pick up a 2lb. until you develop hammer control and the muscle. It'll do plenty of work without tiring you quickly or causing soft tissue damage.

Frosty The Lucky.

Harbor Freight also has a "Pittsburgh 3 lb. Hardwood Cross Pein Hammer" for about $11. You'll need to dress the face and round the edges of the peen, but that's a lot easier and a lot less work than cutting down an engineer's hammer. For any new hammer, you'll also want to sand off any shiny finish from the handle, as that can cause blisters.

Here's a good thread from a couple of years ago about hammer face dressing: https://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/51879-first-hammer-dressing/

Options in order of relative cost:

• Cheapest (and potentially good quality if you know what to look for):  Garage Sales and Flea Markets
  • Harbor Freight:  only have crosspeens at  3 LBS, which is a bit much for a beginner and the head attachments and steel quality/heat treatment are questionable (I use mine for driving punches so I don't ruin the face of one of my good forging hammers)
  • Big Box Hardware stores;  Typically only have hammers with either integral steel handles (Estwing style) or fiberglass (I would avoid these)
  • Blacksmith supply houses (Blacksmith Depot has a wide variety of forging hammers from $35 French hammers to custom forged hammers at over $175)
  • Forge your own  (not really a beginner project, but with guidance from a mentor...).  Nothing beats using tools you make yourself IMHO.