I Forge Iron

What can I make with 1/8 flat stock steel?

I have a good length of 1/8 thick flat stock, about 8ft long I got from my job for free and I wanna make a sword or something out of it but I didn't know if that would be thick enough for anything but maybe a long knife or something like that so I was wanting some ideas of something I can do with it.

Note I am new to smithing so i may not get technical terms.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome from the Ozark mountains. Like Steve said, the type of steel will make a big difference in whether it makes a functional sword or knife or just a wall hanger. If the folks on the job where you obtained the steel can't tell you the type of steel (mild or high carbon) then the only way to tell is to test it.

To do a test, cut off a short section about 3 inches, called a coupon. Heat it in the forge to critical non magnetic and quench it in water. Then to test take a good (sharp) file to see if it will cut into the steels edge. If the file "scates" it is at least hardenable. Then clamp it in your vise and give it a good wack with the hammer. If it snaps off take a look at the end grain, take some pictures and post them we can probably tell if it will make a knife. You could do a spark test too.

If you are close drop by my shop and I'll help you ID it although mystery steel is always a crap shoot. Most scrap yards will be able to scan it and tell it's composition. If you are near one of the Blacksmith Organizations like ours the BOA or Missouri BAM, you could take a couple coupons to one of their meetings. Also scroll down to the Metallurgy sub-forum and start reading the sticky's.

I can't control the wind, all I can do is adjust my sails. ~ Semper Paratus

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.