I Forge Iron

Propane Forge Build Questions

Bodhi

Hey everyone,

I am a beginner blacksmith, I have forged a few things like knives etc. with others guidance. I have recently taken a more serious interest in blacksmithing and am planning to build myself a propane forge. I have done a ton of research online on this forum, others, as well as youtube and more. I am pretty sure that I know what I want to do, but I wanted to post my plan here in case any of you have suggestions on how to do it better, or tips and tricks for some aspect or otherwise have some advice. 

Before I get into my plan I am going to tell you all what I am planning to be blacksmithing. I plan on just doing a variety of simple projects to get started and see what I like. I am thinking of things like knives, hooks, tongs, fire strikers, utensils, bracelets and simple tools. 

So now for the plan: I am going to use an old 20lb propane tank as the shell (I will make sure to fully clean it out before I cut into it). Then I will put in two layers of 1” kaowool all around with more on the bottom to make a tray that will hold an insulating fire brick (this is so that I can replace the brick when it gets worn through and so I have a flat floor to set my work). I will then spray the kaowool with rigidizer (buttering it first). Next, I will coat all the kaowool with 1/8in of selenite (maybe a little more) and apply ITC 100 to that (again buttering first). Lastly, I will insert my fire brick floor and coat that with ITC 100 as well.

I am going to use a venturi burner (the 100k medium one from atlas knife) that I am thinking of installing on the side just above half way up the tank angled slightly downwards. I am hoping that this will allow me to get up to forge welding temps if I want.