I Forge Iron

Just saying hello

WyomingWhitetail

I signed up and thought I would say hello. I've been playing with blacksmithing on and off for quite a few years but I've never gotten real serious about it. I hammered out my first knife when I was probably 13 or 14 using a propane branding stove. Shortly after that I built a coal forge out of a cast iron sink and an old furnace blower. Had a pretty good setup with that forge and my grandpa's anvil. I had no idea what I was doing but I was having fun.

Through the years and the moves and life in general, most of the stuff disappeared one way or the other. The only smithing tools I have left are a couple pairs of tongs and a couple big post vices. I have a buddy who has a little shoeing forge and anvil and we get together once in a while to beat iron with that. 

Hoping to start getting set up again. Think I'll build a simple box of dirt charcoal forge and see if I can fashion a chunk of large forklift fork into a makeshift anvil. I don't have any grand ambitions of doing large projects. Mostly interested in some tool making projects in support of my other hobbies like hand tool woodworking and traditional muzzleloading. Also interested in making hinges, latches, and other accessories for my woodworking projects.

Being interested in traditional woodworking joinery leaves me curious about traditional joinery used in Iron work. That's something I've never learned much about. 

Anyway I'm planning to mostly lurk around and ask a few questions to see if I can learn a little something. 

Matt.

Good Morning Matt,

Welcome to our part of the great big world. There is no limitation on what you can and can't do. If you can think of it, you have to think "How am I going to get there and from here?" Then you have to dream up an answer, Take little steps!!

There area a couple others from Wyoming, I hope you connect with them.

Neil

Welcome aboard from Laramie.  Glad to have you.