I Forge Iron

Figuring out a blower. Electric or dual power?

ODaily

I'm just getting started building my smithy tools up. I've joined a local blacksmithing group that meets weekly, and it's a great bunch of guys sharing all they know.

I really really need my own coal forge. And I've got one about halfway built. Like most things I do, it's going to be way overbuilt. I currently have a table made, and I've just received a coke firepot. (Heavy duty, with dumping ash gate).

For my next step, I need to figure out what I'm going to be using as a blower. I like both hand crank, and electric (even though I've never used electric) and was seriously thinking of putting both on my forge so that I could switch back and forth using a valve. Then I saw THIS POST and I gotta admit I really love the idea of a switchable manual / electric blower.

First question. How do I build something like that, that's not going to beat me senseless with the handle when running under power? I considered using a one way sprag from an auto transmission. Or I could have a gear that can be pulled out of engagement to disconnect the gearbox, and just let the motor freewheel when it's being hand cranked. Thoughts?

Second question. What to build it out of? The fan could be a repurposed dust collector fan. I could modify an old handcrank blower, and that would get me a gearbox too. Or I could build entirely from scratch, at which point I'd probably need one of the Gingery books on fan design / building.

Also the weird stripes on the pic is where the paint isn't dry yet. It's 2" square tubing, and the flat of the table is 1/4 steel ~ 2.5 x 3.5 feet, with 6" wide strips angled 45 degrees on 3 sides, and one side with it straight up and down. Still needs side notches, and a hole cut for the fire pot. All the forges I've worked on have little bitty table tops, and invariable a long piece will launch like a glowing hot catapault / spear. I wanted a big table to have a place to rest things safely.