I Forge Iron

Self Contained Power Hammer Lowest Operating Temperature Limit?

Hey there,

I am probably spending too much time thinking about this... would anyone happen to know from experience (or other sources that I have yet to find) whats the lowest temperature one shall be using a self contained power hammer? I have looked at several articles and read many things from "If it's too cold it could crack the frame or dies" to, "It won't get cold enough to matter". In January the temperatures can easily be around -20F or lower for the lows, I start working at 6am when the low temps are still present.

I bought a new self contained power hammer that is due to arrive in January 2023. I work full time as a blacksmith in a dirt floor shop with no heat/insulation. I just want to make sure I can use the power hammer. I have a self built leaf spring power hammer that seems to work okay in the extreme cold but I have no experience with self contained power hammers. I have asked the manufacturer if there was a point where it's too cold to use but they only said to change to a lighter oil. So, should I worry about the frame or dies cracking? I could preheat it if need be though I hope letting it run for 15 minutes before use would be enough.

I would greatly appreciate any advice!
Cameron

Welcome aboard, Cameron, from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.

What part of Minnesota are you in.  My mother was from Duluth and I have family in Mankato.  If I couldn't live in the Rocky Mountain region Minnestota would be on my short list, particularly the Duluth/North Shore area.