I Forge Iron

"Forge Press" attachment

Vinito

Just thought I'd show y'all a look at an attachment I made for my standard press so I could use it for some forging. It's a fairly small press and just a single-acting cylinder with spring return, so no punching holes, but after trying it out last night it seems to work pretty good for smooshing hot steel.

It uses 1/4" thick 4" x 4" die base plates so is fairly easy to make dies for it. There are a couple L-shaped fence stops (see the video) on the front to help guide positioning material on the dies, but they are easily removable too for yer regular by-eye smooshing.

It took a day to make the device and a couple hours the next day to make a couple die sets for it. I am a machinist for a living so it might take others a bit longer to build it.

It's a little bit "niche" since a real forge press with more power, faster motion and double acting cylinders is significantly better than this, but it was a relatively easy and inexpensive way to adapt what I had to accomplish pressing some steel out.

Anyway, maybe this will prompt ideas for others.

p.s. the video shows a buddy trying his hand at making a sword which started out as a worn tie rod end off his truck.

Press.jpg

He is a rookie (like me) who has no idea what he's even doing (like me) and has no business trying to make a sword yet anyway. But seems to be having fun, for several hours by now, so I am not one to judge... for several reasons.

But wouldn't anything done on the power hammer be a bit harder to control anyway, being a repeated whacking mass and all? For whatever reason, he quite preferred using the press thing for doing... whatever he was doing there.

p.s. and b.t.w. - the material for the press jig was all picked from the scrap pile other than the springs, which were $1.75 each from Fastenal.

I hear ya. There's another guy meets with us on Fridays and we've both suggested that a few times. Some folks just fear change? I can't explain it.