I Forge Iron

Anvil ID Verification - Badger

Hello All, Newbie here (first post)

I've been welding (not professionally) most of my life and I have some machining experience. In my late teens, early twenty's (I'm 49 yrs old now), I built a few knifes out of files and old leaf springs, but using my dad oxy-acetylene rig to do so didn't last long for obvious reasons. I love working with metal. This being said, while I have years of experience working with metal, I have no blacksmith experience. I am ignorant, but am trying to learn as much as I can. I am currently gathering tools and equipment so I can start working metal. 

Last weekend I purchased an Anvil from a guy near Houston Texas. He stated that had acquired the anvil in Ohio. He thought the anvil was a older Rigid, which at the time, I was somewhat excited because I've heard rigid anvils are great, and with some extra money in my pocket, no time to research, and a belly full of margarita's, the anvil was mine. Back to Austin i went. 

After hours of research, I now believe the anvil to be a Badger. I have seen a few identical anvils on the wwwdot, one however was a Vulcan (It had a Vulcan makers mark on it), the others I saw I had to take the original posters word for it as there are no makers marks on Badger anvils that I have seen.  Also it would make sense that the Vulcan looked identical to the others (Badgers) as I understand that the company that produced the Vulcan's at one point purchased the company producing the Badgers. 

Here is what I have found so far concerning my purchase and would like others opinion's and or verification on my attempt at identification. Thoughts on the time frame of manufacturing would be appreciated as well. 

• Weight: 127.9 lbs
  • Height: ~10"
  • Overall Width: ~19.5"
  • Face: 4" x 12"
  • 3/4" Hardy
  • 1/2" Pritchel
  • Bottom is flat
  • Two Handling Holes, one under horn, one under heel