I Forge Iron

I did a quick search but couldn't find anything simular.

I am still new to blacksmithing so I am not sure how the coke should be normally, but I often find rocks mixed in with the coke. Some of them turn white when being burned, which break apart into a white powder, and others open up like a flower blooming (hard to describe). There are also others which give off a thick green smoke (but I suspect this is coal?). Is this normal or is somebody cutting my supply?

I don't know if the supplier is intentionally cutting the supply, or how it is stored & loaded at the plant. We had a coal supplier that stores the coal outside and loads it with a front loader, inadvertently picking up some rocks & dirt when getting to the bottom of the pile.

I have had a similar problem but it has varied, sack to sack of coke.  I suspect that it is unintentional and the result of, as Irondragon says, the product being stored in an unpaved area with the loader picking up dirt and rocks when getting to the bottom of the pile.  I have minimized the problem by sorting it on the shovel by picking out anything that doesn't look right.  A hassle but better than having rocks in my fire.  

The ones that turn white are probably limestone and the smokey ones are probably coal.  The ones that open up may be carbonaceous shale.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."

Those hard things that give off green smoke and bloom is coking coal that is going thru the coking process. 

The other hard things that turn to a white powder are prolly hard coal. Hard coal doesn't give off green smoke or bloom. When it burns it turns to white ash. But, these may be something else. 

Are you buying and burning coke?

Has anyone ever tried petroleum coke? I used to work a hydrocracker and catalytic reformer that had a coker unit right next door. When the wind was just wrong and they were drilling coke they got a lot of nasty things said about them by our operators.