I Forge Iron

My First Dagger

FrontierForge

This is my first attempt at a dagger. It's a European Quillon Dagger with fluted Thuya burl handle. The blade is forged from 5160 steel. The cutting edge of the blade is 11 inches long. The guard, bolster, and pommel are mild steel. The handle is made from Thuya burl and has been treated with Carnauba wax. The flutes were hand filed. I definitely need more practice making double edged weapons. Any critique is welcome.

dagger1.jpg

dagger2.jpg

dagger3.jpg

Dear FF, Please allow me a few constructive suggestions:  The blade looks good but I think you could improve some of the fittings.  First, the quillions are obviously made from a piece of flat stock, bent and polished.  I suggest that you start out with a thicker piece of stock and draw out the ends of the quillions.  That will give a shape more pleasing to the eye. Grooves or other decorations on the quillions always look nice.  Second, and this is sometimes hard for metal workers, you could improve the shape of the wooden handle.  A) I suggest that the "lands" and "grooves" of the spiral cuts in the handle be symmetrical in cross section.  As it is the grooves are round bottomed and the lands are flat topped.  I think it would look better if the lands were rounded off to match the grooves.  B. You may want to experiment with the "pitch" of the spiral to find the most pleasing angle for the steepness of the spiral.

Is the pommel screwed on or secured by peining over the end of the tang?

Certainly, this is much better than my first dagger.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."