I Forge Iron

Nooby for Arizona

Andrew C

Hi guys and thank you for all the awesome information.  I have been a carpenter, mechanic, landscaper, health care worker, and finally found a passion for IT work.  But I was looking for a new hobby to get outside more and off the computer.  I like working with metal and just purchased some basic tools.  I think I have enough materials for about 6 small knives and plan on starting with small skinners using stock removal for now.  I'm currently renting while our new house is being built and the garage is packed with lots of boxes and flammable material so forging isn't in the cards at the moment.  Most of my tools are geared toward building a house or changing a water pump, but I plan to start small and learn what I can until the new house is up.

I have a local shop that offers a weekly open forge nights to come watch and classes in everything from basic blacksmithing to Damascus swords.  I plan on attending the open forge nights as much as I can and then take a class or two.  I can't tell you how many videos I have watched, but it must be over 100.  And reading posts on several forums and blogs has me itching to get out there and start failing spectacularly!  I read somewhere that you can't learn without failing, so I'm going to just jump in and see how it goes.

Andrew

Welcome to the madness Andrew!:D

I got into it with knives in mind as well, but found this forumn in the process. Spend some time here reading as much as you can- there's alot of good info here. Real information... that can save you alot of pain and frustration.

Looking forward to seeing what you do.

Welcome! There are some good guys in AZ; much better watching live and asking questions; when you are new you never know if a video is made by a well respected expert or by a dangerous idiot.  ("likes" by the clueless don't help sift the crop either!)