I Forge Iron

New anvil stand

This is my first post and have learned alot from all of the knowledge on here, thank you all very much.  I picked up this #100 trenton a few months ago and slapped it on a stump stand that quickly turned to crap due to the stump being very old.  A decent portion of the once flat bottom chunked and chipped off until it rocked and rolled, rendering itself rather useless.  Over the weekend I made up this stand with a good friend from 2x12.  I'm a fabricator by trade so i made the hammer rack and other pieces at work.  I'm going to need to to a little reengineering of the hammer rack as the hammers just fall thru which is why the hammers are in the 2x12 offsets where I was planning on putting my tongs.  Anyway here is a picture along with my little helper.  Constructive feedback is always appreciated.

IMG_20200721_183159.jpg

I though it was supposed to be that way with the hammers on the wood slots and tongs on the metal loop.

Much fancier looking than mine which were made from scrapped oak 2x12's from the floor of a horse trailer held together by Utility pole bolts/fixtures.  Clamped the boards together with pipe clamps and drilled with an electrician's extra long drill bit.

I originally intended for the hammers to be on the metal loops, but a slight oversight on my part has the tongs there now.  I have yet to get any hammer time with the new stand so time will tell if I prefer my oversight or change to where I had intended the hammers to go.  Hopefully I get lucky and have one of those Bob Ross moments....