I Forge Iron

DIY pneumatic power hammer build video

Hi all,

This is my first post on I forge iron so please be gentle!  I am pretty new to blacksmithing but I have been machining and making things for some time.  I have been putting a few bits for blacksmithing and I was made aware of some big lumps of steel that were being scrapped so (despite the fact that the blacksmithing skills don't warrant it yet) I decided to turn them into a 55kg power hammer (120lb)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-knMZTTUCg&t=1027s

Hope you like the video.  I have a few other videos related to machining and blacksmithing if you are interested.

I look forward to joining in the I forge iron conversations rather than just lurking!  You guys have already taught me a lot and I hope I can add a little bit in to the mix.

Welcome aboard... I always suggest reading this to get the best out of the forum.   READ THIS FIRST  It is full of tips like editing your profile to show location, how to do the most effective search, and others. It will also help in staying off the moderators radar.:)

Your hammer looks very good and it should do a lot of work. What are your main interests in blacksmithing?

Thanks.

I am interested in tool making and the functional side of blacksmithing rather than the artistic side, although I am sure I will get into that side.  Hoping to learn a bit more about the metallurgy of forging, forge welding and heat treating.

Ah does it have an auto cycle setting?  The one treadle-one blow is extremely slow.  My mechanical will do more than 100 bpm for hours at a time.

Have you actually used powerhammers of various types before you designed this one?  It looked more like a pneumatic treadle hammer than a power hammer from what I saw in the video. (A brief scan I will admit.)