I Forge Iron

Need Help Identifying Anvil

Newbie here from central Pennsylvania. My son has started a blacksmithing/Farrier training program and I am collecting anvils and tools for him. I need some help identifying an anvil that I just picked up. It is 120 pounds and measures 21 inches long, 9 3/4 inches tall and the face is 3 3/4 inches wide. The Hardy hole is 7/8 inch. It has a nice rebound when using a ball bearing and the heel of the anvil has a nice ring to it. It does have a pritchel hole but it is currently clogged up with something. The anvil appears to have a wrought iron body, as it has the handling holes in the front and rear of the body. It has a top plate in terrible shape, but that will be a future post. Currently I am interested in help on determining the make and possible date range.I can see no markings on it. I've wire brushed it, and used talc powder on it but see absolutely no markings or impressions at all. There is a semi-circle notch in the rear of the base. Looking at pics on the internet, the only anvils that I have seen with this half circle notch are early Fisher Norris and American Star. But there is no markings of a star, nor an eagle and anchor on it anywhere. The bottom has no cavity in it. I have included some pictures. I would appreciate any help that the members can provide.

Anvil.JPG

Bottom.JPG

Side 1.JPG

Side 2.JPG

Under Heel.JPG

Under Horn.JPG

Top Face.JPG

Welcome aboard South Fork, glad to have you. That's a nice size anvil, light enough to be portable and heavy enough to do serious work. I'm afraid I can't suggest a maker let alone tell you name and date. The half round notch in the foot is intriguing, part of the hold down plan I imagine. It might have come with a stand or perhaps the maker was hoping to sell stands if only one would work. Like I say intriguing.

The plugged pritchel looks to be the result of the cut under the heal, maybe not.