I Forge Iron

New to forging.

CNC-Fireman

Hello all!

So I have never forged before a day in my entire life. But, I have been watching this show on the history channel for a long time called Forged In Fire. I was quite fascinated with the metal working. I’ve also watched some folks forge from a coal forge and so now I have decided that I wanted to make myself a coal forge of my own and give it a good try. So, for the past week or so on my spare time I cut and welded my very own coal forge that did not cost me a dime except the materials on my property that was just laying around. I have never made one before so this was quite an experience that I think turned out well. The only thing is is it is extremely heavy.

I still do want to add a few more fire bricks soon. I hope this new forge I made will work out so if anyone has any suggestions please let me know and go easy on me with my weld work. I’m a better wood worker than I am a welder, HAHA! 
Thanks everyone!

17DD9BA3-F72B-410C-9BDB-41AC5F1C066C.jpeg

Well, as coal Slag sticks to fire brick like glue there may be a problem off the bat.  My suggestion would be to go to a blacksmith supply website and look at commercial fire pots. Typically they list the dementions, and as your pretty fare with a welder you can duplicate one.  Then the fire brick become the top of your hearth.

myself I am not a big fan of the bottom blast forge and would normally encourage you to go that route, but you have the bottom blast tuyere already built

Are you planning on using coal? I know you said coal forge but when people are new that is a catchall term for solid fuel forges. As Charles pointed out coal slag is going to stick to your bricks. It will work fine for charcoal or even feed corn. You have the skills to weld a proper firepot for coal. It looks like a pretty simple project to make a firepot if you can weld. Good luck and keep us posted. A ducks nest might help but it's clay also so same problem, but it's easier to remake.