I Forge Iron

Beginner gas forge build

kniven

Started building after doing some research online looking through several dead blacksmithing forums and reddit. Did not find this place until after I started. Wish that I did because than I would have changed the material in my oven.

right now it’s lined with hard firebricks on the inside and the floor.

I’m looking for some guidance now about buying burners. 

I have found a seller here in Europe named devil forge but since I’m a complete noob I have no idea which model burner I should order. I’m thinking that I will buy two burners.

Do you guys have any advice?

DBC41D9E-AF7C-4C52-9A30-D8E2163E9A0B.jpeg

It looks like the bricks you might be able to get those bricks out of the housing without cutting any welds.  Is that the case?  If so, my first bit of advice is to change those bricks.  Either to the Thermal Ceramic K26 bricks or you could roll, stuff in, and unroll ceramic blanket and go that route.  (Blanket, Rigidizer, Kast o Lite, Top Coat)

The current bricks will suck up a lot of your heat.  It will take a long time, require more burner to heat up and won't get as hot.  The standard burner recommendations to forge volume will not apply to your forge, most likely. 

What is the internal volume of your forge?  

Keep at it.  Based on the look of your work, you should have no problems getting to the forge you want to have.  

That is a great looking cart/frame. Hard bricks .... switch them for soft bricks and coat them with some IR. Regardless what the instructions say, a thick layer of Matrikote is great on soft brick.