I Forge Iron

Planning First Propane Gas Forge Build

MDDstudios

My old wood forge that I have been using for the past four years is no longer keeping up with what I want to do, and needs to be fixed up, so I figured I might as well move on to a propane forge, and based upon everything I have read in this section, I figured that I should build my own. My parents always told me that if I was going to do something I should do it right. I have spent the last few weeks reading the posts in this section, and on Larry Zoeller’s forge site, dealing with building your own gas forge, and while I have the gist of it, I still have some questions, and appreciate any feedback on my design. Therefore, this post is just to make sure I have everything down, and to double check the information I already have.

The purpose of this forge is to be a sort of multi-purpose forge. I have made several projecst from bottle openers to hose holders, and even a few knives. It was actually the current knife I am forging that made me realize I needed to upgrade my forge. I do eventually want to get into some larger projects, such as axes, larger candleholders, and damascus. I expect to eventually be doing some traveling with this forge setup so while I tried to design the forge to be compact, I also tried to keep it robust to handle travel.

I figured the forge would be oval shape. The inner dimensions would be 12”L by 9”W by 5”H, equaling 540 cubic inches (CI). I was considering a 4”H or even 6”H, but thought that would be too small and too big, but as most of my projects are flat, I might go ahead a do a 4”H ceiling. The outer dimension I believe should be about 12”L by 7-8”H by 12”W, but this can be changed depending on any advice I get from this post.