I Forge Iron

I could use some help on this one

I have been hammering away on a piece of RR track for a couple of months and making some headway with learning. My home made forge is working out well but the track is a bit of a pain to work on. I have been keeping my eye out for an anvil and this one popped up.

I'm an absolute beginner here. I've done a lot of searching and reading but I could use help on this anvil. 

I just don't have a good feeling about it. I know the steel ball test is more or less the final word on these things but it is a good distance away and I would like not to waste a trip if it is an outright loser. 

My first thought on it was Indian but the seller said it says "Japan" on the side away from the camera.

Any help would be appreciated.

20190603_151614.jpg

Ask for a picture from above. Something looks weird with the face. It may be nothing, I'm on a tiny smart phone so I can't be sure.  IDF&C above means 1.75-2.00 per pound. At least I think that is what he means. If you can get it for 2 bucks I'll give you ten for it.  ;-) just kidding.

Pnut

I think it's just a chip on the front edge I thought the whole face was gone. It's not a problem If it's just a chip. That would make it a bargaining chip I guess If you haggle over the price.

Thanks for the help guys!  I ended up going over there and looking at it in person. It was older than it looked in the picture, had a nice ring all over the face and the rebound was 65 to 70%. The seller came down to $200 so I went ahead and bought it. I'm sure looking forward to "warming it up"..