I Forge Iron

Buying a small smelting forge

Can anyone help I'm new to this and looking to buy a small gas powered forge that will smelt up to aluminium. Up to 2 kg and needs to tilt to pour. There are lots of sites showing how to make your own but for many reasons I don't have time so want to buy one. Natural gas preferred, Propane second choice, electric if the other 2 aren't available. I will also need a good exhaust hood system as the chimney goes up 2 floors. Any suggestions here? I'm also assuming I need a 10inch flue

All help appreciated

Welcome to IFI! If you haven't yet, please READ THIS FIRST!!!

Couple of quick things: 

1. Casting uses a furnace, not a forge.
  2. When you're casting, you melt the metal, not smelt it. Smelting is the process of extracting the metal from the ore using heat (which you don't do with aluminum; the Hall–Héroult process uses electrolysis).
  3. Have you done any casting yet, and have you had any hands-on, in-person instruction?

Smelting Aluminum is done with an electric arc furnace.  But getting the correct answers usually starts with asking the correct questions, you didn't say where you are getting the bauxite for smelting or how you plan to dispose of the fluoride waste,  those are serious problems to consider

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. You need to put your general location in the header, much information is location specific. 

Smelting is the reduction of ore into a specific metal and is not done in a forge type furnace. Melting metal is an inherently dangerous practice and requires knowledge and experience to do safely. How much casting experience and safety equipment do you have? 

Casting is NOT something to just jump into. A simple mistake can cover you in molten metal, if you aren't wearing PPE cover you in 2nd. and 3rd. degree burns while lighting the area on fire. I'm not talking about a big melt, a couple kilos is a significant melt even if you know what you're doing.