I Forge Iron

Newbe...Coal?

Hello Gentlemen!
Just so everybody knows, I am new and I have no idea what I am doing!
I am a beginner blacksmith. I have been forging for a little over a year and right now I am fifteen. Currently, I have two forges, two blowers, an anvil, and a vice. I do sell a few products on our family website.
I am pretty much self-taught but I have had a few lessons here and there.
If anybody knows of a good coal supplier in Ky. or northern Tennessee, please let me know. I would greatly appreciate that.

The kidsmith,
Dave Custer
"It's not the fact that you're dead that counts but only how did you die"

Welcome to the forum, sounds like your doing pretty good for 15, sorry I can't help none on the coal in your area but there are coal supplier lists that are around the web, I think there may be one on the ABANA web site, I have some links saved on my other computor, I'll try and remember to post them tomorrow.

welder19

If your in the eastern half of the state your in. Just about any tipple will sell you some by the ton. Sometimes you can find folks who burn coal and clean around their piles. Call your local dept of mining and minerals office. they can put you in the right direction.

Thanks Guys!
Glen, we are in the southern central part of Kentucky. The city is Columbia. We are a little over an our east of Bowling Green, and an hour west of Somerset. We are just a little north of the Ky./Tn. line.

The kidsmith,
Dave Custer

Hey Fiery, I guess it would be a little bit of a drive for you, but Louisville has a great coal supplier, that is a great supplier of great coal.

Cumberland Elkhorn Coal & Coke‎
950 Swan St
Louisville, KY 40204
(502) 589-5300

Call first if you go there, just to make sure they're not out making deliveries or something. The cheapest way to buy it is to bag it yourself. They sell bags for $1, or you can use your own containers. Just ask for blacksmith coal.