I Forge Iron

Just finished a 3-day knife making class

This is Not an advertisement for the tool company, but a report on a good experience. 

Ive been dabbling in smithing and making knives for about a year now, and my father became interested when I gave him my first piece of Damascus i mangled into a knife. 

Since then He has been tooling up to get started, and found a class put on by Pieh (pronounced like pie) tool for knife making. The class runs a few times a year, Fri-Sun. He signed us both up and I just got back.

The best part was the Master Smith Ray Rybar who taught the class. Luckily I have a studious approach to any endeavor i get into, and much of my self-taught and researched process was exactly as Ray taught the course. But I learned an INCREDIBLE amount of new information, techniques, and approaches to knife making and steel work in general. If anyone lives near northern Arizona, or wants to make a nice little road trip I highly recommend it. 

I took some pictures of a few of his pieces. Look him up. Its simply amazing. I learned that there is so much more that I didn’t even know I didn’t know. This man forges entire biblical scriptures (fully legible), skulls, crosses, etc... in damascus and puts it in a knife, thats already damascus to begin with. If you flip the knife over, the letters & pictures are backwards. Its so cool.

And its not a simple mosaic technique in a can either.

54EA345A-8568-4B6F-924A-2AC25589D579.jpeg

5C20F23D-9AD3-448F-8163-F27934EB257C.jpeg

693DC83B-90A8-490E-AA90-145AB649E7D7.jpeg

C92D8195-37CA-47C7-AEAB-1B5A9B8BB8B9.jpeg

CAB18ABB-3B8F-4290-8F7B-819BF24EF906.jpeg

B1F4E9D6-F9BF-4A6E-BA1C-FE8D35F195B1.jpeg