I Forge Iron

Hey all SouthWest Smiths! Total newbie to smithing and the site. 

I live near Taunton, and I'm struggling to find stockists who aren't either a rip off (internet national suppliers mostly), or only want to deliver by the ton. 

All recommendations in the SW welcome, I have a van so not just looking for delivery! 

Cheers

Ross
WestfordForge

Any small engineering firms local to you?

Might be worth popping in and having a chat with them, explaining what you're doing, what sort of stuff you need (always good to have a forged bottle opener or two in your pocket as an example/gift)... perhaps they have some offcuts you can have, or failing that, they'd have a good knowledge of where to buy new stock in the area.

Hi, There are many steel stockholders/suppliers who deliver around the Taunton area, a lot will depend on the material types and sizes you require. Some have minimum quantities and delivery charges which put costs up.

If you collect from stockholders some will cut to length for you, others will just supply a stock length, usually 4 or 6metres or longer if RHS, so take something along to cut them up to fit your van, bolt croppers or a shear, or other suitable tool.

There are stockholders at Cullompton, East Coker and Yeovil as well as Radstock, and Templecombe

There are also many blacksmiths in that area that may also be able and willing to sell you small quantities.

Here at Westpoint Forge, near to Exeter, 30 minutes from Taunton by M5, our members can purchase stock if we have it, or other items you may need, if not other members may have what you require.

We have a members  day on every second Saturday in the month, anyone can come along to see what we get up to, and if we can help them. Tea, coffee and biscuits are usually on hand, and advice is free, Members can hire the use of a hearth for the day with a mentor on hand if needed.