I Forge Iron

Stick Welding

Hey, this is a dumb question, but I can't remember. I'm a new welder still :) However, I think I'm getting the hang of it. I'm picking up a new welder either this week or next week. A cheap but functional one.

If i wanted to weld, I'd attach the ground clamp to my welding table and i could then use clamps to hold down the metal and then just weld right? Now what would I get shocked by if i like touched the table or pieces. I can't remember.....and i don't meet my teacher again for like a week. Just can't remember. Sorrry, lol.

Wear gloves and make sure they are dry and you should have no problems. I worked with a father/son duo back in the 70's & 80's in a pressure vessel shop. They were working in a vessel, one fitting the other tacking, and the son accidentally touched his dad on the forehead with the end of a rod. You can still hear the echo from him hollering! :) The old man said it nearly welded his fillings in his teeth together. Good luck with the new welder!

• 2 weeks later...

I finally got my buzz box mains lead hard wired in so it no longer rubs on the edge of the welding bench. Also the locals will find it harder to "borrow" now. Next job is to make up a maybe 10' welder cable with a 30 amp clamp on each end so I can ground stuff too big to fit on the welding bench. My ground is excellent nowadays.

or not....be the ground! i have always done just about everything barefoot; from training horses to welding....everything except rollerskating!!!

only this week have i felt current from the clamp...put on shoes? no! solved by sitting on a wooden mechanic's creeper!

when i was in school, the welding instructor demonstrated the complete safety of arc welding by touching everybody with the stick...oi, nebraska!

sure, everybody is appalled at my barefoot state, but it came in handy to find an electrical fault that the "electrician" had made....