I Forge Iron

Controlled Etching

I got a freind who wants his last name etched on the blade of a sword that he made.
I've read to coat the blade with tape all the way to paint it. :confused:
I need to know what coating will work best and what type of etchant to use
whether it is HC2H3O2 or FeCl3.
I was looking to coat the balde in parafin wax and cut out the name any help at all will be greatly appreciated.

well all i know is what i read i have no real experience because still getting the lasts bits for my charcoal forge but the way i read it in a bladesmithing book the man coated the blade with a mix of asphaltum and bees wax the cut the design in the wax and dipped it into a container of ferric acid of course tape sounds alot easier

salt water etching is about the most controllable. Place clear masking tape on the degreased blade. Use an exacto knife to cut the name or what ever you want to etch out of the tape and remove it from the blade surface.Now take a 1/4 teaspoon of salt to 8 ounces of water and use an eye dropper to create a puddle over the area you want to etch. You can use a 9 volt battery as your power source or an 11 volt phone charger. Hook negative terminal to the blade and just dip the positive terminal in the salt water solution, don't let it ground to the knife. You may have to change the salt solution a few times to get the depth you want but this process is very easy to control. There is a blue print on this process if you need more info.