I Forge Iron

Forge and hearth design

Hello all.  Just joined the forum and have lots of questions.  The first is about design and layout of my forge, so I guess this is more of a masonry post.  I purchased an 1840's farm house, and it came with a blacksmith shop.  The only thing left of the forge is the top part of the chimney.  I'm trying to stay as close as I can to period design.  I know my rough dimensions, but what I need help with is how do I figure out how to lay everything out?  For instance, how do I determine the angle of all my bricks that make curves?  I'm trying to get a picture/drawing up loaded so people have a better idea of my design.  Sorry for the vagueness, but like I said, I'm just starting out.

Period design depends a lot on WHERE YOU ARE AT and what the shop did.  A ship building blacksmith shop in England does not look very much like a frontier shop in America for instance. (and one in the upper midwest of America doesn't look much like one in Texas).

Forges will differ with use as well and with what fuel is being used!  

I assume you will be using a double lunged bellows; though in the Southwest of America using two single action accordion bellows have been documented.

Welcome aboard Durant, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the gang live within visiting distance.

You want to pick up a book on Masonry in your area. In the 1840s there were probably more adobe and field stone hearths made in America than brick unless you're east of the Appalachians. I believe it was the Chicago Fire that got brick manufacture really going west in the mid west. 

Of course all that's speculation not knowing where on the planet you cast a shadow.

Frosty The Lucky.