I Forge Iron

Mini anvil brazing project

Can anyone tell me what the steps for doing a brazed face to a cast iron anvil are? It's tiny. Maybe twenty pounds.  At most.  Not worth it for the size, just for the experience.  Face area is 2x6". I have some 1/2" AR500 plate I was thinking of using a piece of as a surface. Did a search of the forums, came up with a bit of info, but if anyone's willing to walk me through a step by step on this I'd be grateful.

Here's hoping my request was not too brazin'.

im no expert so wait till others who know more comment.

this is what I think......

maybe mill the top so when you have added the new plate it is about the same height as now or a little bit taller,

flux and cover both surfaces in braze.

when cooled place the new plate on top and heat evenly till braze melts

Yup you want dead flat to dead flat; what will the brazing temps do to the heat treat of the plate?  Brazing followed by quenching is NOT a good idea when you are using different materials as they contact at a different rate.

I'd search on furnace brazing as that's what you really plan on doing.

Did a bit of looking at furnace brazing, though a lot of the initial info has to do with automated processes..  Also found a manufacturer recommendation to keep the working temp around 400F in order to preserve the properties of the AR500. Suffices to say that the temp range for brazing/silver soldering is past that.. 

What about controlling the HAZ so as to preserve the properties of the steel plate to at least some extent?  

Are there ways to manage this? Heating the whole mess to brazing temp doesn't look like a very viable option...?

That is sort of what I'd assumed.  The smaller scale of this project doesn't make it simpler!

Edit: I'm seeing numbers for soft solders that put the tensile strength in the 4000+ psi range, and the temps are close. Thoughts?