I Forge Iron

i would need some help about material for hot chisels.What i have yet, i made of an old drill,hss material.Although the heat treating is a challenge(im not experienced in smithing),it succeeded so far,that the piece didnt break,and able to use.What material is ok,(junkyard,used stuff),and how to treat it?Possibly not the most difficoult way:rolleyes:.Thanks for help in advance

Borz -
A good junkyard material for hot chisels would be automotive or truck coil springs. They typically run 3/8 - 3/4 inches in diameter. Forge your chisel at colors from bright, almost lemony, orange down to bright red, then reheat to continue forging. Let it cool when you have nearly the edge you want. Heat it to non-magnetic and set it aside on your ash heap to cool slowly to room temperature. This is normalizing it to relieve the forging stresses. Heat again to non-magnetic and quench it in warm oil. It should now be quite hard and brittle. Use sandpaper to shine up the working edge by removing the forging scale. Then take a blowtorch and heat the struck end and shaft as uniformly as possible to about 500 - 600 F. Let the heat run down the chisel to the cutting edge. When the cutting edge runs colors from yellow through magenta just turning purple/blue, put it in the water bucket and cool it. This should leave the working end adequately hard, and the struck end soft enough to be tough. At this point, use your file or grinder to dress the working end. If you use a grinder, don't let it get hotter than the same magenta/blue that you heat treated to.

This process has worked for me to make reasonably good chisels and punches.

Another step up is to use hotwork or other steels that have high hot hardness, like S7 or H13 which will maintain their hardness even when jammed into glowing steel during use.

Unfortunately not generally found in the scrap stream though sometimes you can run across smiths selling pieces for such tooling.