I Forge Iron

Shattered steel

19Branden86

Hello everyone. 

I'm Branden. I was born, raised, and live in central Kansas. I just built a brake rotor forge last week as my starter forge. I'm a pure greenhorn when it comes to smithing. The only other metalwork I have done is 10 years experience as a welder, and 5 years experience with soldering copper and brass. 

My very first forging project was this set of tongs I was trying to make out of some 1/2" round stock from the iron bin here at work. As far as I know, it should be mild steel. I'm not aware of any high carbon alloys here at our shop. 

The problem I ran into is that after shaping and working the steel, all was going well until it was time to punch out and drift the rivet holes. Shattered it. The nib busted off as you can see as well as part of the reigns. (I was only hammering on the boss so how the reigns broke is beyond my understanding)

Somehow, and I'm not sure what I did wrong, and perhaps you guys can give me some ideas, but somehow I managed to crystallize my billet. No water to cool it off, no dipping, no quenching or anything of that nature was involved. I'm not really familiar with the properties of iron alloys beyond just for welding applications, so I haven'ta clue of whether I got the metal too hot, or worked it when it had cooled down too much or a combination of rookie mistakes. 

Any ideas of what this completely newbie greenhorn might have done wrong and tips on how to not do it again to the best of my ability. 

I look forward to getting to know you guys and I'll be on here often, I'm sure, as I venture deeper into the art and science of blacksmithing. 

Good day

20170605_213244.jpg

20170606_190701.jpg

Also, if this helps, the parts that broke off, the fractured areas looked like sugar or sand

Welcome to the site.