I Forge Iron

First pair of spurs

Well im a newbie when it comes to blacksmithing (made a couple of knives but nothing fancy) but want to progress and move forward. So im wanting to take my frist step and make my first set of spurs. It doesnt seem to terribly difficult to do. Gonna weld my shank on and make my own rowls. I am wanting to put some silver on them (which also doesnt look to difficult either) but i dont know what gauge to use or if i should use sterling silver or nickel silver. If any one has any experience with this or has some tips on making spurs anything helps. Thank you!

Thank you Frank ill be sure to check them out! Ive seen some things on here where people made rasp spurs where they cut the rasp in half. Where one half is for the heel band and the other side is for the shank. Could you discribe to me how to make the shank out of that other side? Ive herd they fold it im guessing to make it thicker? 

Personally, I'd use nickel silver. A pair is spurs is something close to the ground  and therefore constantly getting beat up. Not much point is using the premium material when you can't tell the difference and they're going to get covered in dirt and...other things. As you get better you might want to mount a pair with sterling as a set of wall hanger. 

Here's a pair I built last year. The nickel silver is a little heavy on these, 16gauge for most and 14gauge for my name. 

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

The only reason I can think of for heavier silver would be deep engraving. I used what was handy. As you said, spurs aren't terribly difficult but there are some things that do require some thinking. The hangers come to mind, I had to do a few practice hangers before I got some I liked. If you got any questions let me know. 

Ben