I Forge Iron

First Knife

magikk

Hi Guys first of all I'd like to thank everyone who posts on IFI for the great wealth of knowledge. My name is mike I'm from central PA. I've always been interested in blacksmithing since I was kid and I've always liked knives so now that I'm older 49 I have the opportunity to pursue this new hobby. I've been reading the site since last summer and I have learned a lot and have a lot more to learn. I started making wall hooks and s hooks and some tools.This is my first attempt at a knife.It turned out pretty rough but it cut well.I used it to skin a deer and it held it edge and it was satisfying to know that I had made it. I used a car coil spring for the blade and some scrap wood for the handles and brazing rod for the pins. I had a hard time getting the bevels even but I'm sure with enough practice I'll get better. I heated to non magnetic and quenched in vegetable  oil.To temper I set a fire brick on the fire in my coal forge to get hot and set the blade on the brick over night while the fire burned out.Maybe not the best but I had oven.Thanks Mike

Knife 1 pic 1.JPG

2 hours ago, ThomasPowers said:

What colour did the brick bring it to?

Hi again and thanks for the comments. I placed the blade on the hot brick on the forge. Immediately after quenching the blade. So as far as color it was still black from the oil.  Should I have cleaned the blade before tempering? I have an old toaster oven now but if it doesn't fit. Would using the hot bricks over the coal fire ove obj the sufficient? Thanks mike