I Forge Iron

Anvil ID - colonial pattern

Greetings!  I've been lurking here for a while trying to learn all I can while a local fellow was teaching me the basics at his shop.  He's headed south for the winter, and I've been bitten by the "bug" enough I'm setting up a basic shop.  Since I'm just starting out I didn't want to pay $$ for a "lifetime" anvil, but wanted a good serviceable anvil.  Anvils seem tougher and tougher to find for "reasonable" prices in the northeast US from what other folks have told me (vs a few years ago), but a trip to VT and I came back with a bit of extra weight in the truck!  It had the best rebound of the bunch I looked at (75% or so with the ball bearing test), and felt the best with a hammer as well (there was another, likely newer anvil there with about the same rebound with a bearing, but the hammer wasn't as lively).  Anyway, I've attempted to attach a few images.  I'll state what I figure so far, and I'm hoping folks here can help correct me - I'm just learning, and enjoy the history of some of the tools as well as working in the shop.  So - 1 1 2 on the "wrong" side of the anvil (on the side with the horn facing to the LEFT, not right), hardy hole but no pritchel - my best guess so far as a William Foster pre 1830 that when new was around 142 lbs.  Forging hole (square) in the base as well as under the horn and heel.  I tried the flour trick as well as a rubbing with tracing paper, but nothing has jumped out at me in the least on the side of the anvil with the horn to the right.

Thank you in advance for any ideas / thoughts, and again my thanks to all for the great community that seems to exist here!

IMG_4975.JPG

IMG_4976.JPG

IMG_4977.JPG

IMG_4978.JPG

IMG_4979.JPG

IMG_4980.JPG